Academy Councillors

Academy Councillors

Our Academy Councils play an important role in supporting the Board of Trustees and providing key elements of local governance for schools. Erdington Hall Primary and Pegasus Primary have a joint council consisting of representatives from both schools.


The Academy Council are responsible for:

  • Ensuring the academy is operating within the mission and ethos of the trust and contributing to the trust’s key strategic priorities.
  • Monitoring the quality of teaching and learning, attendance, behaviour and safety, within the academy and progress against the academy improvement plan.
  • Holding school leaders to account for improvement of standards in the school.
  • Engaging with wider academy activities as a means of monitoring overall quality.
  • Ensuring compliance with the Trusts policy for Safeguarding and that the Academy maintains a ‘culture of vigilance in respect of all safeguarding matters.
  • Appointing all staff except Principals, teaching staff on Leadership Scale and Support Staff on Grade 6 or above.


Please see below the members of the Erdington Hall Primary and Pegasus Primary Academy Council. For further details on the governance and statutory information of Ninestiles Academy Trust, please click here

Erdington Hall Primary School Academy Councillors
Members Title
Gill Turner Chair
Richard Simcox Principal
Usha Devi School Improvement Director
Amber Norwood Staff Representative
Amanda Lees Student Advocate
Ruby Shaheen Parent Representative SEND/Inclusion
Neelam Ranee Parent Representative SEND/Inclusion/Compliance
Jason Halsted Trust Appointee Safeguarding/Child Protection
Sarah Murfin Trust Appointee